RSS

Peel the Cheese

25 Feb

Do you remember the round cheeses wrapped in wax? I don’t know if the wax makes the cheese taste any better, but I have always enjoyed them!

The other day I was at the house of Evelyn’s (my wife) parents. They had wax wrapped cheese! I was excited! Evelyn grabbed a piece and took a bite, but didn’t like it much.

At that moment, my daughter Sofia was grabbing a piece from the fridge. Instead of opening a new piece, Evelyn offered her the piece that she had already bitten. Sofia rejected it. In my infinite wisdom, I offered her my opened, still untouched piece of cheese. After all, my kid wasn’t going to accept a piece of cheese that had a bite in it!

Sure enough, I was proven to not have as much wisdom as I thought I did. Sofia rejected my piece of cheese also! Unbelievable! Why would she reject my cheese? Turns out that Evelyn was the one with wisdom. Sofia was not just interested in eating the cheese, but also unwrapping it. She was just as interested in the journey as the destination.

Sofia liked the process, not just the final result.

I think at some point in life, most all of us forget that life is much more about the journey than the destination. This is not to say that the destination is unimportant! On the contrary! Without a destination, the journey makes no sense!

But, if we simply focus on the destination, we may lose valuable experiences along the way. Is heaven a destination? My answer is yes…and no! Of course it is a “place” that we will go to. But, more than that, it is a continuation of the journey that started when we came to Christ.

After all, Jesus declares that He is the “way” (John 14:6). Jesus is not only our destination. Jesus is our Journey!

If heaven is “it”, then we will be done when we get there, right? Not at all! We will continue to learn, grow, and experience new things for eternity!

I have realized something in God’s working in my life. Many times I want to move on to the next thing, the next stage, the next big thing. Even though I think I’m ready, many times I’m not! Before God opens the door to the next stage, He makes sure that I learn the necessary lessons in this stage.

I believe God is more interested in PROCESS than in time. God is not in a rush to get us somewhere. Don’t take shortcuts and don’t shortchange God’s process in your life. Take the time to experience, learn, and grow from the journey.

I believe the more you experience the journey, the more you’ll enjoy the destination.

How are you enjoying the journey today?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2011 in Life, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Peel the Cheese

  1. Joshua Ogaldez

    February 28, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    Wow! What a truth!…God is our ultimate destination..he’s a person, not limited to being called a place. When we accept Christ, we start a RELATIONSHIP with Christ…It is a journey!…If Heaven was “it”, then we could say goodbye to the God who changes and molds our character, has the power to heal our physical or emotional ailments, provide when we need it, use us to minister others…that’d be horrible if it heaven was “it”, but thank God it ain’t over when we accept him…he’s got so much things ahead of us when we accept him. What a joy it is to serve Him!

     
    • Jeff Tolle

      February 28, 2011 at 12:25 pm

      Agreed!

       

Leave a Reply

 
