RSS

Please Remove Shoes Before Playing

19 Mar

image

Just about every time I go to the mall with my family, my kids ask to play in the indoor playground. One of the rules that governs the playground is that all children must take off their shoes in order to play.

So…confession time: Most of the time, I let my kids play with their shoes on.

You see, I am very protective of my children. But, I’m also protective of their white socks! Those floors are dirty! Why are they dirty? Because other parents’ kids play there with their shoes on (my kids don’t count)!

That leads me back to protecting my kids. The real reason I don’t have my kids take their shoes off is because I’m AFRAID! I’m afraid that another kid will step on their toes and hurt them.

So, I’m a rulebreaker.

AND SO ARE YOU!

You see, we all have problems with TRUSTING. We constantly live in a mode where we protect ourselves because we are afraid of…

Getting hurt.
Losing something
    …or someone.
Failure.
Or ________________

Because of these fears, rather than trusting, we choose to hide in our cocoons, hoping everything will turn out ok.

But it never does!

Because you’re not the only one protecting yourself. It’s not only my kids who have their shoes on…it’s ALL the kids!

So, the cycle of untrust and self preservation repeats itself over and over, and progress is never made.

Read carefully: The more you protect yourself, the more vulnerable you become.

Choose today. Choose to trust others. Choose to take the risk. Offer yourself up to others freely in relationship.

There WILL be failure.
There WILL be loss.
There WILL be hurt.

But if you don’t do it, who will? I believe God has placed the DESIRE in every human to trust. I believe that if you choose to trust first, you will inspire others to do the same.

After all, God did this for us. Romans 5:6 (Message) says,

“Christ arrives right on time to make this happen. He didn’t, and doesn’t, wait for us to get ready. He presented himself for this sacrificial death when we were far too weak and rebellious to do anything to get ourselves ready. And even if we hadn’t been so weak, we wouldn’t have known what to do anyway.”

Christ didn’t wait for us. He initiated His action (which resulted in loss, pain, suffering, and apparent failure) when we didn’t even know how to respond! He trusted that His sacrifice would result in others placing their trust in Him.

Have you done that? You can do it today. Choose to trust Him! And remember…He didn’t fail. His pain and loss was worth it. He rose from the dead three days later.

Choose to trust others. The pain will be worth it, because one day you will see a resurrection happen!

Who do you need to trust today? Jesus gave the example, and we can follow. It’s time to take off the shoes!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 19, 2011 in Life

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Please Remove Shoes Before Playing

  1. Joshua Ogaldez

    March 28, 2011 at 8:56 am

    Yikes!…I think there’s a ton of truth here, especially in the following line: “The more you protect yourself, the more vulnerable you become.” The more we, the more I, protect myself by being unauthentic, the more vulnerable I make myself to the temptations and sin that appeal to my flesh. The more I protect myself from relationships, the more I make myself vulnerable to living in the pain and hurt of the past because I’m not giving a chance on actually finding joyful, meaningful relationships in the present and in the future. Above all, the most meaninful relationship being that of being with Jesus, the one all of us can count on in times of despair, failure, joy and victory.

     
    • Jeff Tolle

      March 29, 2011 at 11:08 pm

      Trust is hard, but we must start somewhere! Thanks for the comment!

       

Leave a Reply

 
