RSS

CityLife Church

18 Apr

I realize that there are many different people who read this blog. Some of you live close, and others live far! Whoever you are, I am extremely thankful for your willingness to spend a few minutes to read about my thoughts, my beliefs, and the happenings in my life.

In the last year, God has been doing some pretty big changes in my family’s life. I would like to bring you in on these changes! In a recent blog post called “The Announcement” I mentioned that Evelyn (my wife) and I had felt the leading of God to begin a new church. That post served to talk about Revolución Juvenil, the ministry I have led and loved for ten years!

But, when God leads, we must listen and obey! I trust Him and believe that wherever He chooses to lead us, He knows what He is doing. So, I’m going to use this post to talk about this new beginning that God has birthed inside of us.

Like any child, we carry the DNA of our parents. The same is true of this church that we are planting. People have asked me if we will have the same name as the church we have served at (La Iglesia En El Camino). My answer is this: No, but we WILL have the same DNA!

CityLife (Ciudad de Vida) comes from two things that are very important to me, which have been infused into my life as I have had the privilege and honor to be under my father’s leadership. The first is a call to pastor the City of Los Angeles. That passion burns in me brighter than ever! The second is God’s desire to bring life in the midst of dead areas. The word “life” (vida) has been the principal word on the front page of our bulletin as long as I can remember! As I was wondering about what our church would be called, the Holy Spirit prompted me one day and said the name would be “CityLife”. The name was also confirmed by two visions, one of which God showed to me, and the other of which God showed to my wife.

We have a desire to reach those that speak English and Spanish. We have a desire to reach families. We have a desire to reach those who are young. We have a desire to give ourselves in service to our community. We have a desire to make eternal impact wherever God sends us. We have a desire to be generous, to form authentic community, and to let everyone know that they are ACCEPTED by God, regardless of who they are or where they have come from.

At the core of our church is the desire to see the city and its people transformed by the life found in Christ. Jesus specifically states in John 10:10 that He came to give life abundantly. We want to see the city and its people live the life that Christ has for them!

If you are in the Los Angeles area and you have not connected with a local church, we invite you to join us! Our first meeting is coming up May 1st! You can message me through Facebook, communicate with me through Twitter (@jefftolle), or send me an email to pastorjeff@citylifela.org.

I am thankful for the church that has invested in my growth and development for so many years. I am thankful for the church that is sending me. I will be forever grateful to La Iglesia En El Camino and The Church On The Way. I am especially grateful to my dad, who has given me the opportunity for so many years to learn about ministry, and to do ministry!

You might be asking: Why another church? Aren’t there enough already? My answer is simple: As long as there are still people who need Jesus, then the churches we currently have aren’t enough. WE NEED MORE. So, we are looking to be another lifeboat throwing our lifeline into the sea, doing our part to rescue people in need of the Savior’s love.

Whatever church you are a part of, give yourself to it! Serve that church! Believe in what God is doing through your church, and together we will see a world transformed by the life found in Christ.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 18, 2011 in Life, Ministry, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “CityLife Church

  1. Joshua Vasquez

    April 25, 2011 at 9:30 am

    Your going to do awesome!!

     
  2. Rick Q.

    April 25, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    Excited to hear about God doing great things.

    God bless you today!

     
  3. alcardenas12

    April 26, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    History in the making! Preach on Pastor!

     

Leave a Reply

 
