RSS

The Real Comparison

18 Apr

COMPARISONS ARE THE BANE OF OUR EXISTENCE!

And, yes, I do mean those words.  Comparisons usually bring out the worst in us.  You might be wondering what I’m talking about.  Let me explain!

When is the last time you compared yourself to the picture of THAT PERSON (whoever that person is) on the front cover of THAT MAGAZINE at the checkout stand?  You know which one I’m talking about.  It’s different for everyone, but there’s one that you compare yourself to.

When is the last time, as a pastor, that you compared the attendance numbers of your church to THAT CHURCH?  Yes, you know which one I’m talking about.

When is the last time, as a business owner, that you compared your sales numbers to the numbers of THAT COMPANY?  Yes…you know which one!

We play this comparison game all the time.  At the root of it is pride and insecurity.  We are attempting to prove our self worth through our comparison to others.  If we are better than them, we feel validated and successful.  If we are worse, then we feel that we are worthless.

Everyone has done the following: We have all compared ourselves to another human being, thinking they are better than us because they “have it all together”, or thinking that they are worse than us because they obviously “don’t have it all together”.

Do these comparisons work?  Do they actually accomplish anything productive in our lives?  I think not!

So, should we stop comparing? NO!

What? 

We should continue to compare, but we must compare using a different metric.

The real comparison is this: Compare your CURRENT state of being to your POTENTIAL state of being. 

The comparison is with yourself.  Think about it!

If you’re a pastor, don’t compare your church size to another church’s size.  Compare your church size to the number of people that still don’t know Christ!  Even the BIGGEST church still has a long way to go in reaching that objective!

As a person, don’t compare your level of “holiness” or “perfection” or “maturity” to that of another person.  Instead, compare yourself to the level of holiness of God and what He desires to do in you.  I think we would all agree that compared to Him, NONE OF US COME CLOSE! In fact, with that comparison, I realize that I am not very far ahead or behind anyone else around me.

If I stop comparing myself to the beauty or waist size of the person in that magazine, I will start comparing myself to what I want to see happen with me.

As a business owner, when I stop comparing myself to the sales volume of the other company, I can start to compare myself to the potential my company has in today’s market.

Two things are going to happen:

First, you will realize that you ALWAYS have room for improvement.

Second, you will realize that the only competition you have is yourself. 

If you’re far behind where you want to be, then get the help you need to go where you need to go!  That help comes from God and from others!  You can’t do it on your own.

If you’re close to where you want to be, then be ready to set new goals and find out what it will take to achieve them.

At the end of the day, here is what’s important: Find your identity in Christ alone. He is the barometer for success.  He is always ready, willing, and able to take you farther than you can imagine.  He is the only comparison that is worth it, because only He can take you to where He is.

Where are you?  Where do you need to be?  And how will you get there?

My friends, THAT is the real comparison…and THAT is the only comparison you need to be making!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 18, 2011 in Life, Uncategorized, Vision

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “The Real Comparison

  1. Joshua Ogaldez

    May 18, 2011 at 8:50 am

    Totally! Wow, this truly has renewed and transformed my way of thinking. Thanks, Jeff!

     

Leave a Reply

 
