RSS

My Thoughts on Bin Laden

03 May

Ever since two days ago, I’ve been watching the tweets, the posts, and the blogs about people’s thoughts regarding the death of Osama bin Laden. I watched the celebrations in the streets by young people celebrating his death. What’s interesting is that many of those celebrating were under 10 years old when it happened!

I’ve noticed that, as far as Christians are concerned, the mass media tends to pick the most extreme ones to place on their broadcasts to interview.  Oh well…

There are those who are happy that justice has been served. There are those who are glad that he will burn in the fiery pits of hell! There are those who are filled with sadness, not only for the victims, but the perpetrators who never found reconciliation with God. Here are my thoughts:

1. I am glad that justice has happened. If God is love, then justice is an extension of His love. Justice allows those who have been suffering to put an end to a particular chapter in their lives. This is good. It also means that bin Laden will not be able to perpetrate any more crimes (even though this will not stop Al Qaeda).

Proverbs 21:15 states, “When justice is done, it brings joy to the righteous but terror to evildoers.”  Joy is a good thing!  Live in it! This does not mean “gloat”, or “condemn”, or “hate”.  Joy is a God-given gift that affects our hearts to be content with the results that He has given.

2. Osama’s death does NOT eliminate anger and bitterness associated with his actions. Only forgiveness is capable of doing that. Ultimely, if God forgave us through paying the price for our eternal destination, we should offer the same forgiveness to others. When I don’t forgive someone for what they have done, I am expecting them to pay for my loss. Osama can’t do that now…he’s dead! Forgiveness is the only path to freedom from bitterness.

3. In the eyes of God, Jeff Tolle, Osama, and my neighbor across the street are all sinners. So, I am humbled that God has rescued me! But, I am troubled and saddened by the many victims of 9/11, soldiers who have died since, Osama bin Laden, and the rest of those still alive who may not or still have not encountered God’s love.

Ezekiel 33:11 states, “As surely as I live, declares the Sovereign LORD, I take no pleasure in the death of the wicked, but rather that they turn from their ways and live. Turn! Turn from your evil ways!” God’s desire for EVERYONE is life, not death (and this includes bin Laden)! I pray that he found God’s life before he died a physical death.

4. I am thankful to all those who have served and given their lives for our protection. Our military is amazing and deserves our utmost gratitude! I am also thankful to both president Bush for having initiated, and president Obama for having completed the enormous task of bringing this murderer to justice.

5. I have mixed emotions.  And, most people I know have mixed emotions also.  This is ok! I have mixed emotions about a lot of things!  It is ok to be happy that justice was given regarding bin Laden, and it is ok to be sad that things still aren’t the way they should be.  It is ok to be happy that there is one less terrorist in the world, and it is ok to be sad that he didn’t find God’s real love.  Mixed feelings show a sensitivity to the reality of the situation.  They aren’t bad!

My hope is that you are able to connect with one or more of the points listed above.  I pray that I have been at least somewhat helpful to you, considering the enormity of this situation.

Be blessed!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “My Thoughts on Bin Laden

  1. Joshua Ogaldez

    May 18, 2011 at 9:00 am

    This reveals to me the heart of God. He is a God who, due to His nature, is just but in the same time, I believe that, because of His love for humanity, he feels 4 every person that is lost and away from Him.

     

Leave a Reply

 
