RSS

Be You!

31 May

Right now, my wife and I are looking for a house.  This has been a long process and we are praying that we will have one soon!  During this time, I have had to think through what type of home I would like to live in.

I used to think that I would love to live in a huge house with thousands of square feet that would have everything I could dream of.  Then I realized that I would be responsible for CLEANING that house.  Let’s think through that one again, shall we?

So, I’ve realized that what I really want is something a little smaller, that gives us what we need, but doesn’t take up extra space.  THAT IS ME. My preferences. My desires.

I was talking to Salvador, who works in the youth office with me.  He was telling me how his grandfather owns a car, but has always preferred to ride a bike.  Even though he has something “better” than a bike, he obviously knows his preference.  And, even though he is 90 years old, he still loves to get on his bike and ride it.

THAT IS HIM. His preferences. His desires.

Maybe you like the bigger house.  Or you prefer the car over the bike.  THAT IS YOU. Your preferences. Your desires.

AND IT’S ALL OKAY!

Unfortunately, we spend much of our lives looking at other people, things, or objects and attempting to see if we can get “it”.  What is “it”?  “It” is the things that we have become convinced we need or want, when in reality we don’t!

I was at Best Buy yesterday and one of the employees talked about the picture-in-picture (PIP) technology that came out years ago in televisions.  Many people would walk into the store saying they wanted a t.v. with that capability, would buy it, then would proceed to never use it at home.

This is NOT a good way to live!

So, how should we live? 

BE YOU!

Figure out who you are, what your preferences are, what your likes and dislikes are.  If you do this, you won’t have to spend all of your time worrying about what everybody else has or doesn’t have.

You don’t have to settle for less than who you are and what you desire!  But PLEASE don’t try to get MORE than who you are and what you desire.  That will be a waste of time, energy, money, relationships, etc.  That will be a waste of your LIFE.

Choose to be content today.  Be you.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 31, 2011 in Life

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Be You!

  1. Joshua Ogaldez

    June 10, 2011 at 1:35 am

    For sure! Great word, Pastor Jeff!

     

Leave a Reply

 
