RSS

Jesus is My Strategy

20 Jul

I am a visionary leader. I can imagine that the reason I am planting a church is because God made me this way. He made me a visionary leader, then He gave me the vision to plant a church. God is smart like that.

I am also a strategic leader. I might forget to take out the trash, but if you put me in a room with a group of leaders to figure out how to make a vision a reality, I am on it! This is how God built me and wired me.

Another person who is like this is Tony Morgan. He doesn’t know me, but I read his blog regularly. He definitely understands strategy. Check out this post from him where he talks about having healthy foundations in your church. It’s great!

But, I have become uneasy in the last year with a certain reality: most of the people in the Bible didn’t know the strategic plan to get to where they needed to go.

Abraham was sent by God without having a clue what would happen. Joseph had great dreams but had no influence on the process that led him to achieve those dreams. Noah built an ark without an idea of when the rain would come or how long it would last.

And the list goes on and on and on…

Is strategy not important then?

I COULDN’T DISAGREE MORE. Strategy is still extremely important. But, there is something even MORE important than strategy: JESUS.

Ultimately, Jesus is my Goal and Jesus is my Strategy. He is where we begin and where we end. He is also the path we take to get there.

Jesus is my Strategy.

As leaders, we should allow His life, His Word, and His voice to be our guide to get where we need to go. If our plans and strategies rest on Him, then we will get where we need to go.

Are you letting Jesus be your strategy?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 20, 2011 in Leadership, Life, Ministry, Uncategorized, Vision

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Jesus is My Strategy

  1. mishchichiis

    July 22, 2011 at 11:19 am

    Amen! Jesus is all we need to pursue what God’s will is for each and one us. Awesome post.

     

Leave a Reply

 
