RSS

Your Story

01 Aug

Evelyn and I went to San Francisco for a few days last week. We visited an Italian restaurant while we were there. I found myself wanting to read the story of how their restaurant came to be.  I didn’t see it.

And that got me thinking.

When I go to many restaurants, I like to know their story.

Where do they come from?

How did they come to be?

Who started it?

How has it changed over the years (or stayed the same)?

Why is the story important to me? Because, at the very least, it gives me a feeling of authenticity and legitimacy.

This is not a guarantee that it is authentic, but the chances are more likely when they are willing to tell their story.

The same is true of our story. The story of what Christ has done in my life is one of the most powerful things that I can communicate to others.

Your story of how Christ has changed you does the same. Your story allows people to compare your past to your present. Your story allows people to see the authenticity of not just someTHING, but someONE.

A restaurant’s story communicates the authenticity of its food.

Your story communicates the authenticity of your God.  The focus of your story is not you. The focus is the God who has done a new work in you.

Who can you share your story with today?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 1, 2011 in Life, Ministry, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Your Story

  1. Joshua Ogaldez

    August 2, 2011 at 10:55 am

    Great word. I think sharing ones story builds the bridge of relatability. We need to share of what God has done on our lives more often!

     

Leave a Reply

 
