RSS

Cultural Relevance

10 Oct

Many Christian leaders are afraid of leading a ministry that suits the needs, preferences and styles of those they are reaching. They feel that this approach might be too “man-centered” instead of “God-centered”.

Many times I’ve heard leaders say that those who come to a service should not be concerned with the worship style and should worship God freely, because after all, it’s all about Him!

While I appreciate the desire to disciple people into maturity (which is good) and to have God at the center (whic is ALSO good), I believe we are missing something.

Please understand, I am not talking about “catering” to people…that usually has to do with doing whatever it takes to keep the seats warmed with the bodies of those who come to our churches, instead of reaching those who need Jesus.

I am saying that we need to do everything possible to communicate Christ in a way that those who don’t know Him will understand. Is this “man-centered”? I don’t believe so. Let me explain.

If we don’t adjust ourselves to the styles and needs of the communities around our churches, then whose style are we following? It’s their style or…?

I think you know the answer!

US!

So, whic one is more God centered: to stay in my comfort zone and do what I like, expecting unsaved people to adjust all they are to what I like -or- adjusting myself, sacrificing my personal preferences in order to reach those who need Jesus?

I believe it is much more God centered to sacrifice my desires to do all it takes to reach those far from God. I would rather move in this direction, making mistakes along the way, rather than sticking to my way of doing it and seeing few (if any) changed by the life of Christ.

Our churches must exegete (interpret) the culture around us and figure out through research anf prayer what it will take to bring our communities to Christ.

Let’s do it for Him!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 10, 2011 in Leadership, Ministry, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Cultural Relevance

  1. Joshua Ogaldez

    October 11, 2011 at 9:17 am

    Amen. I Corinthians 9:19-23…

     
  2. Andrew

    October 12, 2011 at 4:29 pm

    amen. willing to become anything so we can save some!

     

Leave a Reply

 
