RSS

Grammar

06 Sep

The following post is not the type of post I normally write.  So, forgive me for taking a post to “stray” from my normal topics of leadership, life, and love.

A word of advice to fellow blog writers:

Learn grammar.

I know, I know…I am not your English teacher.  Why should you pay attention to me?

And, yes, writing a blog is not the same as writing a term paper, a doctoral thesis, or even an essay for a class.  So, what does it matter?

Understand this: While the above may be true, none of it makes good grammar irrelevant.

Let me put it this way: If your desire is to write so that others will read, then the people that will be reading your blog are people who know how to read.

Read the last sentence two or three times, since it’s really complicated to understand.

Since readers are the ones who read, they also know what good grammar looks and feels like.  Since the point of writing is for others to read, then it makes sense that if we use better grammar, it will result in more readers.

I’m not calling for perfection.  But, I am calling for excellence.

You see, your message is what is most important.  The way you and I write is the vehicle that carries the message.  If the vehicle is broken, then the message won’t get delivered.

When someone needs to reread the same phrase due to not understanding what was said (because of poor grammar), the result may be the loss of one or more readers.

So, learn to use good grammar.  The less mistakes there are, the easier it is for others to read.  When it’s easier for others to understand what we write, then we will be judged by the validity of our message, not by the condition of the vehicle that carries it.

Please:

Learn how to use a “.” (period) correctly.  Run-on sentences are confusing.  A period will help solve that!

Learn how to use different words that sound the same (for example: there, their, or they’re). Or, how about “effect” and “affect”.  Ok, I’m on a roll…one last one: “its” and “it’s”.

Learn how to use a “,” (comma) correctly.  The comma influences phrasing in a sentence (similar to taking a breath when speaking), thereby allowing the reader to understand more clearly that which is being communicated.

I’m not an English teacher (so if you need lots of help, you might consider looking somewhere else).  I do make mistakes (again, perfection is not required).  But, I am constantly learning and growing.  Why?  Because I want others to judge me on the message, not the method.

Let’s continue to become better writers!

And, if you do have some questions, feel free to ask.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Grammar

  1. David J Franco

    September 6, 2012 at 10:37 am

    HAHA Love it!

     
  2. Joshua

    September 8, 2012 at 12:41 pm

    Ha, hit me on this one. Thanks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
