RSS

Thanks Starbucks!

08 Nov

I was recently at a great restaurant.  I ordered a meal a specific way and when they brought it to the table, it was not the way I had asked it to be.

I mentioned it to the waiter.  His first reaction?  “But you told me…”

Defensive.

Instead of immediately fixing the problem, he wanted to blame the mistake on me.  That was uncomfortable.

Fast forward.

I just got home from Starbucks.  I was fulfilling my spousal duties of caring for my wife’s needs.  Starbucks happens to be one of the best ways to do that.

I went through a drive through Starbucks close to my house (thank God for those)!  I ordered two drinks (I might as well get something while pleasing my wife also)!

I ordered an iced black tea for myself.

I tested it real quick when they gave it to me.  It was sweetened.  I didn’t want it sweetened.

So, I let them know and gave the iced tea back to them.  What was the immediate reaction?  “Let me fix it for you”.  With a smile.

Now that’s good service.

In this case, it might have been my fault.  I didn’t ask them for an “unsweetened” black iced tea.  Or, it might have been their fault…they didn’t ask me if I wanted it “sweetened”.

Who cares?

They served me with a smile.

Then, while I was waiting for the new iced tea, they offered for me to keep the original sweetened iced tea, telling me that it was going to be tossed in the trash anyways.  I took it. 🙂

The cost of pleasing a customer < the cost of losing a customer.

Remember that for your own business, organization, church, etc.

Thank you Starbucks!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 8, 2012 in Business, Leadership, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Thanks Starbucks!

  1. Joshua Ogaldez

    November 11, 2012 at 12:18 am

    Total truth, organizations fall because of this…a key question to good customer service is, “What can I do that will make my customer want to come back?” Put yourself in their place. Excellent post, Jeff! (P.S. If going to Starbucks is part of getting married, then I think I wanna get married soon too lol!)

     
    • Jeff Tolle

      December 4, 2012 at 10:51 pm

      Starbucks makes marriage good!

       

Leave a Reply

 
