RSS

The Abortion Debate

09 Nov

I waited until after the election to talk about this.

I understand that there are real differences between Christians in how they approach elections and the candidates that they support.  I always want to tow the line of leading people towards a Biblical way of living, without having to tell people how to make every decision (picking a candidate being one of them).

So, I waited.

Before I get started, let me tell you that this post is not about politics (even though I do mention some political people). I am not interested in a debate about who voted for who and why. You can have that debate in your living room with friends and family!

But, let me tell you.  I’m frustrated.  

I’m one of those guys who flips the channel whenever commercials come on.  It bothers those around me to no end!  When it comes to getting the news, I regularly flip between different cable networks (FOXNEWS, MSNBC, CNN, etc.) so I can get a feeling for the different views that are being expressed.

Let me be clear on something: I disagreed with both presidential candidates’ views on abortion.

According to the vice presidential debate, Paul Ryan stated that, “the policy of a Romney administration is to oppose abortion with exceptions for rape, incest and the life of the mother.”  You can read about it here.

President Obama has voted many times to support abortion.  You can read about it here.

So, what am I frustrated about?

I’m frustrated with the discourse about this issue.  Names are thrown around.  Accusations are abundant.

Comments from liberals and comments from conservatives.

We say so many things without dealing with the real issue.  Let me be clear:

The question is this: is the unborn baby a living human being or not?

If the answer to that question is “yes”, then there is no acceptable response but to save that baby’s life in all circumstances, regardless of why that baby is being born.  The one exception I feel comfortable making is when a choice has to be made between protecting a mother’s life and that of a baby.  In that case, the choice is to save a life, even though one might die as a result.

But, do we cause suffering to an unborn human being due to the circumstances surrounding their birth?  Other so called “exceptions” to those don’t make sense if we believe the baby to be a human being.  “Emotional” exceptions made to this still have the same result: the killing of an innocent human being.

If the answer to the above question is “no”, then there is absolutely no concern regarding any actions taken regarding the unborn baby.  There is no need to try to limit abortions in this case.  If the belief consists in the idea that the unborn is not a human being, there is no need to even debate the issue…kill at wish!

All too often, the argument is surrounded and layered with a bunch of emotional pleas and declarations on both sides of this issue.  We need to remove all of those layers and get back to the most basic question regarding this issue: Is the unborn baby a living human being or not?

On this, we can debate.  On this, we can discuss.  Even though I am adamantly pro-life, the point of this post is not to explain my pro-life position as much as it is to change the conversation.  If we can discuss this based off of what the real issue is, then we can make real progress.

Can we create a civil conversation that doesn’t include popularized phrases that only cloud this issue further?  Can we dig down deep and communicate with clarity that which we believe?  Can we actually choose to believe the best of each other, instead of the worst, and communicate accordingly? Can we love each other, while disagreeing?

I hope so.

(on a side note, I would love to have these questions posed to pro-choice candidates in the future)

Ok, and a couple of verses to end this:

Psalm 139:13 “You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother’s womb.”

Jeremiah 1:5 “I knew you before I formed you in your mother’s womb. Before you were born I set you apart…”

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 9, 2012 in Cultural Commentary, Love, Politics, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “The Abortion Debate

  1. Joshua Ogaldez

    November 10, 2012 at 11:29 pm

    Jeff, you address this topic with thorough research and with a solid, unwavering conviction, turning our eyes away from any party, any politician and any personal attack. Very civil. I definitely agree with this post. Today’s political discussions have become very polarized. Why is it that the way that politicians have this discussion (with personal attacks) is not a noteworthy thing in college courses that deal with logic and debate, yet its rampant in the political arena.

    There needs to be more civility…and politicians definitely need to turn back to ponder on that question: unborn or born…does that really make a difference? Is the unborn child a LIVING human being or not?

    Delving further, the last link in your post points to another reality in the political arena; the double standard. These questions are very thought-provoking, presidential-debate quality questions that should be asked.

    Well done!

     

Leave a Reply

 
