RSS

Blind Side

16 Jan

Near miss on the street

 

This morning, I had a “near miss”.  I always wondered why it’s called a “near miss”, since I didn’t actually hit the person (or they didn’t hit me).

I was driving along, about to pull into a parking lot on my right side, once again fulfilling my spousal duties of getting my wife a cup of White Chocolate Mocha from Starbucks.  I noticed a man pushing a cart, so I decided to stop and wait for him to cross the entrance to the parking lot.

Once he was almost across, I started moving my car, only to realize that another car (“crazy car”…I couldn’t think of a better name) decided that they didn’t want to wait to enter the parking lot.  So, they pulled around me (they were two cars behind me) and went directly in front of me.

Two accidents almost happened.  First, they almost hit the man pushing the cart.  Second, I almost hit them, since they cut in front of me.

And yes, I did honk the holy horn of righteousness and justice at them!

And it made me think…

They couldn’t see what I could see.

In their rush to get into the parking lot, the driver didn’t even wonder why it is that I might have been stopped at the entrance.  And, since they had a limited perspective, they were driving blind.  They had a blind side.

All of us have blind sides.

The key piece of information about a blind side is that YOU can’t see the problem.  The problem is real…it exists, but you are incapable of discerning it.

For this reason, we need people around us who can see what we can’t see, who can discern what we can’t discern, and who can help direct and lead us when we don’t know what’s in front (or to the side, or behind) of us.

When a blind side is not dealt with, it has the potential to wreak large amounts of havoc in our lives.          When a blind side is not dealt with, it has the potential for us to hurt those around us.                               When a blind side is not dealt with, it may very well destroy our lives.

Blind sides could include faulty plans, bad systems, character flaws, or any number of other things.  They are real and we can’t see them.

Do you have people in your life who can call you out on your blind sides?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 16, 2013 in Leadership, Life, Love, Ministry, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Blind Side

  1. Joshua Ogaldez

    January 16, 2013 at 2:42 pm

    Wow, what truth! Great post, Pastor Jeff.

     
  2. Tim Mossholder

    January 16, 2013 at 3:28 pm

    The “holy horn of righteousness and justice” made me LOL! Great post, Jeff, and an important reminder to S L O W down to gain insight before making a rash decision. That’s the second time I’ve reminded of that today…maybe God’s trying to get my attention!

     
    • Jeff Tolle

      January 17, 2013 at 2:11 pm

      Slowing down is so necessary! I’m glad you got a laugh!

       

Leave a Reply

 
