RSS

Be Strong and Courageous

12 Feb

Joshua 1:6 NLT

“Be strong and courageous, for you are the one who will lead these people to possess all the land I swore to their ancestors I would give them.

Multiple times, God gave this command to a young man named Joshua who was taking over the leadership reins of a multi-million member community called Israel.

Over the course of my lifetime, I have heard this command given.

Have you?

I must confess that every time I hear this command, I like it.

But I don’t do much of a good job living it.

I think I found the answer why. Just before that command, God says some other words to Joshua.

Take a look:

Joshua 1:5 NLT

No one will be able to stand against you as long as you live. For I will be with you as I was with Moses. I will not fail you or abandon you.

God promises…
Success
His presence
His faithfulness
His commitment

Then, he gives the command to be strong and courageous!

If you’ve been weak and wimpy it might be because you missed the verse before the command.

Only when we fully trust that God has our backs can we then walk in boldness.

Let His promises precede His challenges!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 12, 2013 in Life, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
