RSS

If You Are, You Are

05 Mar

Read this genius thought:

If you are something, that is who you are.

I know, I know…you are amazed at my ability to take such contemplated concepts and break them down into simple to understand language.  You are awestruck by the truth I have just presented to you…truth you have never thought of before.*

Moving on.

Over the years, I have noticed people who like to tell me (or us, or others) who they are.  Things like:

“I’d like you to know that I am an honest person.”

“I’d like you to know that I am a trustworthy person.”

“I’d like you to know that I am a generous person.”‘

I’ve noticed that when people say they are something, they are typically the opposite of what they have stated.

They feel the need to communicate who they are because they are worried people might not believe them.

I have found that when you live a certain way, people will notice it, and you won’t need to say it.

So, if you are trustworthy, then you are!  People will see it.  If you are honest, then you are!  People will believe it.  If you are generous, or caring, or loving, or merciful, or gracious, or …

Then you are.  People will know!

Live by example.  People will notice.

*If you are new to reading my blog, you should know that sometimes I use a healthy dose of sarcasm…today is one of those days.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 5, 2013 in Business, Leadership, Life, Ministry, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “If You Are, You Are

  1. Joshua

    March 5, 2013 at 8:39 pm

    So true. Our character is not exposed by our words, but by our actions… Great post, Jeff!

     

Leave a Reply

 
