RSS

Why I Read the Bible

17 May

5-29-13 Do Devotions Daily

After healing a lame man on the Sabbath, Jesus was being harassed by a group of Jewish leaders.  Jesus then went into a longer explanation about who he was and what he was doing on earth.

As a part of his words, Jesus says in John 5:39-40, “39 “You search the Scriptures because you think they give you eternal life. But the Scriptures point to me! 40 Yet you refuse to come to me to receive this life.”

There are those who believe that we engage with Scripture in order to learn more about Scripture.  There are those who believe that we engage with Scripture in order to learn more about God.  Then, there are those who see Scripture as not only powerful, but also representative of Christ himself.

What this means is that the Bible is not our goal…Jesus is our goal.  Pursuing a passionate, loving relationship with God is what we are here for!

That’s why I love Jesus’ words so much!  He in no way disparages the Scriptures or declares them worthless.  On the contrary!  He makes it very clear that the Scriptures are necessary, not because they give eternal life, but because they point to the person who does!

Maybe your times of being in God’s word have been empty, dry, boring, or _______.

Might a make a suggestion?

Make it your goal of devotional times and Scripture study to engage more of Jesus as you engage Scripture.

Do not just simply read the Bible to learn more or to grow more…get yourself into God’s Word because it leads to the person of Jesus, who is the ultimate giver of life!

That’s why, whenever I read the Bible, I start with a simple prayer.  I ask God to speak to me, to show me things I haven’t seen before, to change me and challenge me, and to allow me to know him more!

And you know what?  He hasn’t failed me yet.

I have read through the Bible tons of times, and I’m not stopping any time soon!  The more I connect with God’s Word, the more I connect with Jesus!

What happens to you when you read the Bible?  What problems have you had with reading the Bible?

Feel free to comment!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 17, 2013 in Bible, Life, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
