RSS

Flush the Toilet

11 Jun

6-11-13 Flush the Toilet

So many times I’ve walked into the bathroom only to see some weird substance in there.

Who didn’t flush the toilet?

At that point, being in a rush to use the bathroom, there’s no point in finding out the culprit of this insidious crime.  That would require me going after four children (well, three, since David is still in diapers…but you never know), finding out who did the evil act, all the while trying to…

Well, nevermind.

Let me tell you: Having kids and raising kids are two completely different things.

Here’s the truth: Flushing the toilet immediately once someone has used it is much quicker and more convenient than having to return later.

I’ve noticed the same thing with washing dishes.  On the days that we wash the dishes immediately after eating, the dishes get cleaned easier and quicker than the days where the dishes sit there for a few hours beforehand.

I’ve also noticed it with my car.  When I decide to take out trash that accumulated on one trip once I get home, it will be much easier than having to spend an hour cleaning it up later.

I was reminded of this recently when I needed to clean my car because of a guest who I was hosting, only to realize that I had a bunch of trash sitting around in my car.

This has happened with me with regards to email.  Sometimes I get a message that requires a reply that will take five minutes.  Instead of immediately taking the time to do it, I put it off, apparently hoping that it will take care of itself.

Newsflash: that never happens.

Then, when I come back to it later, the situation is more complicated, or requires more time, etc.

So, I am learning to do things quickly.  To stop waiting.  

It’s time to flush the toilet.

How about you?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 11, 2013 in Leadership, Life, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Flush the Toilet

  1. Joshua Ogaldez

    June 11, 2013 at 8:24 pm

    Gee-whiz, what a practical tip for life… Thanks, Jeff!

     

Leave a Reply

 
