RSS

Who Cares How Much Leadership Experience You Have?

18 Sep
Pegs

Pegs – coloured – concepts  by Ruth LIvingstone

Yes.

And I mean it!

I recently realized something really simple that I can’t believe it eluded me for so long.

While I have been leading for many years…

While I was a youth pastor with a thriving youth ministry for over a decade…

While I have plenty of skills, understanding, and knowledge about how to lead a church…

While I have read multiple books on leadership…

None of that means that those I lead are at the same leadership level as I am.

So what does this require of me?

I MUST MEET PEOPLE WHERE THEY ARE AT.

I realized that I have constantly expected people to operate at the same level that I am at.  To do the things that I do.  To understand everything I understand.

Notice that inherent in that belief is the thought that I know better than everyone else.

Hardly. 

But, even if I do, I cannot expect people to learn overnight what it has taken me years upon years to learn.

This would be nice in a fantasy world, but not in reality.

To see people understand what I understand and do what I can do, it takes…

Time.

Patience.

Grace.

Understanding.

Relationship.

And, with all of that in mind, I remember this:

We will grow together.

While those I lead are growing under my leadership, I must continue to grow too.  And, much of my growth will come from things that they teach me.

The people I lead don’t care how much leadership knowledge I have.  They care about whether I’ll walk with them in this journey of growth.

I’m ready.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 18, 2013 in CityLife Church, Leadership, Life, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
